Jefferson County Extension Service

The Jefferson County Extension Service Staff is dedicated to providing the citizens of Jefferson County with education on various topics dealing with economic development, small business, community development, agriculture, food and consumer science, weed science, financial management, and youth. We are part of the Montana State University Extension network.

Montana State University Extension's statewide information and education links Montana State Unniversity with citizens around the state via Extension offices in most counties and reservations. Extension faculty develop educational materials and programs to help citizens deal more effectively with family, business and community issues. While Extension at the state and federal levels provides resources and program support, citizens via county government and citizen advisory groups determine program priorities at the local level. In addition, a strong network of volunteers help Extension stretch its resources to accommodate more Montanans.

The Extension Office is funded jointly by Jefferson County, Montana State University Extension Service, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The Jefferson County Extension Service is an educational agency with programs open to all people without regard to race, color, sex, religion, disability, age or national origin.


Jefferson County Economic Development

Alison Richardson
Community & Economic Development Agent
Jefferson Local Development Corporation Co-Manager

Tom Harrington
Economic Development
Jefferson Local Development Corporation Manager

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Kaleena Miller
Agriculture and Natural Resource Agent

4H and Youth Development

Mikayla Hudson
4-H Agent
Katherine Smith
4-H/Ag Program Assistant

Madison-Jefferson County Extension

103 W. Legion – Borden’s Hotel Building
PO Box 1079
Whitehall, MT 59759
Phone: 406.287.3282
Fax: 406.287.3287