Planning Department

The Planning Department works with the Jefferson County Commissioners, County boards, County departments, and federal, state, and local governments to promote responsible development, growth, and land uses in Jefferson County.

Tasks assigned to the Planning Department include:

  • General long-range planning
  • Growth Policy development and implementation
  • Developing & reviewing new planning regulations and regulation updates, revisions and amendments
  • Subdivision review
  • Zoning administration and permitting
  • Survey review committee
  • Rural Improvement Districts (RIDs) and Rural Management Districts (RMDs)
  • Permit coordination

Notice of Public Hearing

Jefferson County is holding a public hearing to revise the Planning Dept. fee schedule. The public hearing notice is available here and the resolution is available here.

A public hearing will be held for the Hidden Valley RV Park and Campground subdivision on August 24, 2022. For additional information click here.

Planning Board

The Planning Board typically meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month but may hold other public meetings as needed. Meetings are usually held in the new Clerk and Recorder's Office Meeting Room

Arica Klapan, Whitehall (chair) 2/1/2022 1/31/2024
Christina Binkowski, Boulder (vice chair) 2/1/2021 1/31/2023
Gerry Keogh (conservation district rep) 2/1/2022 1/31/2024
John Eric Barbee, Mt City 2/1/2022 1/31/2024
Mike Ferriter, Mt City 10/13/2021 1/31/2023
Rhandi Rachlis, Basin 2/1/2021 1/31/2023
Joseph Dunn, MT City 5/10/2022 1/31/2024
Susan Pullman, MT Hwy 69 5/31/2022 1/31/2024
William B Levengood 4/19/2022 1/31/2023

Now Recruiting! Board Adjustment Members

Contact the Planning Department at (406) 225-4040 or